Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu


Your source for campus news

Salman Rushdie Presents Distinguished Lecture Nov. 20

By: Kathleen Tuck   Published 2:30 pm / November 7, 2014

Photo by Beowulf Sheehan, PEN American Center.

Photo by Beowulf Sheehan, PEN American Center.

The Honors College Distinguished Lecture Series at Boise State University presents author Sir Salman Rushdie at 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 20, at the Morrison Center for the Performing Arts. His lecture, titled “Literature and Politics in the Modern World,” is free and open to the public. No tickets are required.

Rushdie has penned a handful of classic novels, influenced a generation of writers and received a Queen’s Knighthood for “services to literature.” He stands as both a pop culture icon and one of the most thought-provoking proponents for free speech today.

His novels include “The Satanic Verses,” “The Moor’s Last Sigh,” “The Ground Beneath Her Feet,” “The Enchantress of Florence” and “Midnight’s Children,” which won the Booker Prize in 1981 and later the Best of Booker. The novel has been adapted to film and premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival. He also is the author of the bestselling memoir “Joseph Anton.”

An eclectic writer and noted public intellectual, Rushdie has won many of the world’s top literary prizes, published a heralded collection of essays titled “Step Across the Line,” written a book on “The Wizard of Oz” and served for two years as president of The PEN American Center, the world’s oldest human rights organization. His children’s novels include “Luka and the Fire of Life” and “Haroun and the Sea of Stories.”

Please be advised that the Morrison Center reserves the right to search all bags and that clutches or purses larger than 14 inches by14 inches are not permitted. Large purses, tote bags, backpacks and fanny packs are strongly discouraged and prohibited for most performances. The Morrison Center is a smoke-free environment; vaping is not allowed. It also is a gun-free environment. View Boise State’s weapons policy here: 

The Distinguished Lecture Series will continue on April 8, 2015, with Canadian writer Margaret Atwood. Atwood has won many international literary awards, including the prestigious Booker Prize, and is the author of more than 30 volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction and nonfiction.