Skip to Main Content


Your source for campus news

Faculty, Staff, Alumni Honored as 2017’s ‘Women of the Year’

By: Cienna Madrid   Published 11:33 am / January 9, 2017

Boise State faculty and staff members, as well as numerous alumni, have been named to Idaho Business Review’s annual top 50 women of the year.

Among honorees from across the state, Janet Callahan, materials science and engineering professor; Vanessa Crossgrove Fry, assistant director of the Idaho Policy Institute; Ann Hubbert, professor and director of the School of Nursing; Susan Shadle, director of the Center for Teaching and Learning; and Caile Spear, a professor or community and environmental health, are all in the running to become the publication’s 2017 Woman of the Year.

Boise State Board of Trustees’ member Debbie Critchfield, along with alumni including Idaho’s First Lady Lori Otter, Carlyn Blake, Megan Bryant, Laura Cobb, Finia Dinh, Debbie Donovan, Karianne Fallow, Tracy Hitchcock, Danae Klimes, Amy Lientz, Rhea Morrison and Rhonda VanOrder also were selected.

To become an honoree, candidates were nominated by peers, colleagues and mentors, and then submitted an application that included resumes, letters of recommendation and personal statements. Ten selection committees evaluated the applicants. This is the 12th year that Idaho Business Review has honored women leaders across the state.

These eighteen Boise State leaders and 32 additional outstanding Idaho women will be honored at a reception, dinner and awards gala from 5:30-9 p.m. March 9 at the Boise Centre. There, one woman will be named the Idaho Business Review Woman of the Year. A dedicated magazine featuring all of the women’s stories will be published with the March 10 Idaho Business Review.