Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu


Your source for campus news

Department of World Languages Wins Video Competition

By: Brady W Moore   Published 3:38 pm / April 27, 2017

The Department of World Languages has been named the winner of the Center for Global Education’s “#Youarewelcomehere” video competition.

The #YouAreWelcomeHere website describes the campaign as “a welcome message from U.S. higher education to international students around the world. It is a campaign designed to affirm that our institutions are diverse, friendly, safe and committed to student development. Participating institutions and organizations are communicating the message in statements, photos, videos, events and other creative expressions that feature students, faculty and staff.”

Student employees under the supervision of Amber Hoye, director of the World Languages Resource Center, created the winning 3-minute video with students, faculty and staff. Featuring 10 of the languages presently taught in the World Languages Department, the video showcases welcoming phrases from around the globe. When asked why they were driven to create the video, Blake Simony said, “I thought it was important to participate in this campaign because I enjoy making media and thought it was a great cause to promote. To promote an interconnected world, it is is essential that we travel and learn from each other’s cultures and lifestyles.”

“Given current events, it is important to let international students know they are welcome. Progress is dependent upon diversity and international students and staff bring new perspectives and ideas to Boise State,” said Sarra Foerster, another student creator.

“In my experience of studying abroad, I was welcomed and accepted by the community for who I am. I want to help reciprocate this welcome to our international community,” said Madalen Bieter Lete.

The following World Language Resource Center student employees were involved in the creation of the video: Abby Orlovich, Antoine Abjean, Ashley Potzernitz, Blake Simony, Bridget Lawrence, Cecilia Morales, Daniel Felix, DeeDee Nassans, Madalen Bieter, Mardy Morales, Mariela Montoya, Megan Beiler, Sarah Dowd, Sarah Lausch, Sarra Foerster, Sandy Walker, Ryan Byrd and Waleed Mubarki.